top of page
theMEproject-202 (1) (2)FINAL.jpg
theMEproject-208 (3)1.jpg
theMEproject-204 (1)Final.jpg
  • Writer's picturetheMEproject

3 Amazing Products to Help Clear Your Maskne



The ongoing pandemic has strongly impacted the whole world and changes being made forced us all to adopt a new norm. We are grateful that new laws are being passed to stop the spread of the virus, but as we abide by these new rules of wearing face masks in closed public areas, we can't deny that having maskne has been our least favourite result so far (although it is a small price to pay for our overall safety).


Last month, we shared some tips to help prevent the occurrence of maskne; in the past few weeks, I've added a few extra steps and purchased products that helped with this problem. Today's post will be dedicated to the things that have really worked in clearing up my maskne.


1. I tried the Tiktok-famous cleanser

I was one of the lucky ones as I was able to snag one of the Inkey List Salicylic Acid Cleaners before they sold out everywhere (one of our team members has searched 5 different drugstores and counting). I'm usually skeptical when it comes to heavily hyped products, but I was willing to give this a shot for the sake of clear skin, and mostly because it only costs $10 CAD. To my surprise, this product has done wonders for my skin and I've only been using it for a few weeks! After three uses, the results were visible as it helped clear out my existing acne and prevented new ones from developing. I use this on top of my usual skincare routine and this can typically be used in the morning and at night, but I made sure to do my research on what products I can use with this and skipped out on it on days when I used harsher products such as lactic acid and other chemical exfoliants. I also use SPF every day to protect my skin from UV rays, especially after using exfoliants such as salicylic acid that make it more sensitive to sunlight.



2. The Ordinary saves the day once again

I know we keep raving about this brand on our blog but it has come to our rescue once again! Ever since purchasing the Salicylic Acid 2% Masque from The Ordinary, my skin has been so smooth and clear. After using it twice a week (I skip out of the Inkey List cleanser on days that I use this) for a few weeks, it has done exactly what it claims to do. It has the same concentration as the cleanser, but since I leave it on for a few minutes, it tends to have more drastic effects on my skin. I find the best effects when I use my normal nightly routine of hyaluronic acid solution and niacinamide with zinc solution after using the mask and cleansing. The Ordinary also offers the same concentration of salicylic acid solution that can be used every day, but I opted for the mask as I already use several products everyday and I didn't want to add more to the process.


3. Acne patches

This has been my go-to for active treatment during the day, especially when I'm working a full shift since I can just slap some patches on my blemishes. I've only tried the Nexcare patches, but there are several brands out there that work the same way. I use this as a hack to treat my acne while no one can see whatever is happening under my mask, so it's like hitting two birds with one stone - I'm keeping myself and everyone else safe, while actively treating my blemishes underneath.


These items have been extremely beneficial in my case and it's only fair to share it with you guys as these have become my new skincare favourites! Of course, I still get breakouts here and there but these products definitely help control my acne more than usual.


Note that these products were simply added to an existing routine and although they would work when used alone, I have not tried it that way, and therefore cannot provide a full review of the individual products. Use these at your own risk and make sure to do your research, especially when dealing with chemicals that directly exfoliate your skin. By far, I have not had any adverse reactions after using these products.


If you end up using any of these products, please let us know what you think by commenting down below or sending us a DM on our Instagram page. Our team wishes you safety and good health during this pandemic.


xx,








0 comments

Comments


Join our mailing list

Never miss an update!

Anchor 1
Anchor 2

DISCOVERING HOW TO ADULT IN OUR TWENTIES

bottom of page