top of page
theMEproject-202 (1) (2)FINAL.jpg
theMEproject-208 (3)1.jpg
theMEproject-204 (1)Final.jpg
  • Writer's picturetheMEproject

My First Facial Treatment - Was It Worth It?



Hello all! In these last few months, I have kept up with my skincare routine and have been taking care of my skin so much. Ever since I've struggled with acne from wearing masks all the time (which we should all be wearing), I have been on a mission to make sure my skin stays zit-free.


I recently visited a local spa in Calgary to get a facial to help clear up my acne and my acne scars. I went to Skoah, a popular Canadian membership-based skincare franchise spa. They offer skincare based on what your skin needs and "personalized training for your skin". The location that I went to specifically is Skoah in Kensington Calgary, AB. It was very easy to book online and they offer a variety of appointment times which makes it flexible for people with very busy schedules.


So was it worth it? Here's how my experience went:


I went to my 6 p.m. appointment right after work, I had arrived 20 minutes early because traffic was very kind to me that day. I was asked to call their front desk before I came in so they had a head's up that their next client was ready. I called in and told them that I was early, so I understand waiting but they said that they were actually ready for me and that I could just come right in. I wore my mask when I came in and they had asked me to scan a pdf document with my phone. These documents were just pre-screening questions they had for me before I was allowed to go in for my facial. They also took my temperature and asked me to sanitize my hands to make sure that I was safe and illness-free. With all of these safety measures in place, I was more than happy to oblige because they were making sure that all of their clients were safe.


I was welcomed to my room which was clean and dimly lit. I had a note on my facial bed with my name and a free lip balm. All of these small details, I appreciated. My esthetician asked me to just take off my top and my bra, if I was comfortable, and lay on the bed and to use the sheets to cover me to my chest. The bed sheets were comfortably heated and the ambiance in the room was very relaxing.


When my esthetician came back in the room, she asked me what my main skincare concerns were and what I would like to accomplish with my skin. She, then, told me that she would walk me through each product that she will be using on my skin and what each specific ingredient will do to my skin. I really appreciated that because it helped me understand that each step of the facial had a purpose to help clear up my skin.


The entire appointment took about 45 minutes. In that time, I had a deep cleanse, exfoliation, customized masks (about three masks in total), extractions, and muscle-melting massages. I had a massage done on my shoulders and neck, as well, which was amazing.


Each of the products that she had customized for me was targeted for my acne-prone, oily-combination skin. The ingredients that stood out the most were: alpha hydroxy acid, charcoal, tea tree oil, salicylic acid, vitamin e, and zinc oxide. My esthetician explained what each of these ingredients do and how often I should be using them to keep my skin in the best condition.


After my facial, she thanked me for coming and hoped that I enjoyed my facial. She told me that she will meet me up front and talk to me about some of the products that she had used on me so that, if I would like to include some of them in my current skincare routine, I can get them. They explained to me how their membership program works, but they weren't forceful about it.


The receptionist said that she recommends coming in at least 4 times a year just to keep up with my skin's maintenance. I ended up purchasing two products which actually do help keep my skin looking like I just got out of a facial appointment.


I do plan on going back to buy some more of their products to help keep maintain my skin's glow because I really enjoyed what each of the ingredients did for my skin. So do I recommend going? Absolutely! I don't think I will buy a membership anytime soon, but I do think that I will come back in a few more months to treat my skin to an amazing facial. My skin, to this day, has remained zit-free (except for the time of the month, of course). I love that I was educated on which ingredients to look out for that are best suited for what my skin needs.


I hope you enjoyed my review of my first facial experience from Skoah. Please comment down below or message us if you have any questions! We really enjoy talking to you guys. Until next time!


Skoah locations in Calgary:


Kensington

116 10 St, Northwest Calgary AB T2N 1V3

Phone: 403-264-0203


West Hills

260 Stewart Green SW Calgary, AB T3H 3C8

Phone: 587-354-0200


Willow Park

#290 - 10816 MacLeod Trail SE Calgary, AB T2J 6A5

Phone: 403-455-9494


xx,









0 comments

Comments


Join our mailing list

Never miss an update!

Anchor 1
Anchor 2

DISCOVERING HOW TO ADULT IN OUR TWENTIES

bottom of page